Getting Used to Virtual Internship

#MyI4GZuriDiary

Getting Used to Virtual Internship

It was International Women's Week and I received mail from Barter to participate in the #IWD program they had. I wanted to be sure and check the full details on their twitter handle, trust twitter algorithm to give me all other information concerning other tech platform I follow, then I saw the Zuri tweet. Everyone kept saying it is the HNG for beginners.

HNG for beginners!!!

I was not going to sleep on this. I have signed up on HNG and trust me that internship is not for beginners, I was there, trying my best possible to make it to the end, I couldn't make it past stage 4 or so, because I was a total beginner, but I am glad I was able to learn the proper use of Slack in my short time at the virtual internship. I signed up for Zuri and also sent the links to my friends.

I was going to try my best with this!!

I decided I would write about this, to help me with more reason to give my all to this internship. I do not write normally, in fact this is the first I am posting, but if you are writer and a developer, I am inviting you to join Hashnode. It is a free developer blogging platform that allows you to publish articles on your own domain and helps you stay connected with a global developer community.

Click here to join Hashnode

Let the Zuri journey begin!!

After I signed up, I was sent a mail invite to Slack (let's make use of the Slack knowledge here!!!). I joined the Slack and made sure to help and show a few people around, the faster we all settle in, the faster we get to start the program, which I was eager to do.

One of the most important things when you enter a Slack work space is to look for the channels and join all the ones particular to you. Always look out for the pinned messages in that channel(It is on the top left corner), it carries a lot of important information on how the particular channel you are on, works.

pin.PNG

Turned out that a lot of people do not pay attention, and this is a very crucial characteristics of a person in tech, due to this, we kept on moving around the same thing for a while. After a lot of "don't post in this channel!!" and "have a unique username", we started. The first week was for Orientation, to give proper and full information about each track we were going to be joining, which held on Zoom and YouTube. A lot of people, decided to change their track, seeing that what they intended to do was not what they choose.

What I really like about the whole internship is the Zuri board. I love, love it. We didn't use the usual style of internship, from this, I knew the whole team spent a lot of time and energy preparing for this internship. I joined the backend track to take Python classes.

I really want to say a very big thank you to the whole of @theZuriTeam, @Ingressive4Good, @xyluz and everyone making the team wonderful.

It been 2 weeks since I signed up for this, I have attended classes and done 3 tasks. As the week goes on I would be bringing update on this.

Thanks for reading